Congress elections

Shillong, Dec 26: The Congress appointed observers for the upcoming Assembly elections in Meghalaya, Tripura, and Nagaland on Monday with party MP Mukul Wasnik named senior observer for the three states. The elections are likely to happen early next year that is in 2023.

The Congress appointed two observers each for the states.

“Congress president has appointed senior observers and observers for ensuing Assembly elections 2023 for the respective states, with immediate effect,” the party said in official communication.

While Rajya Sabha MP Mukul Wasnik has been named senior observer for the elections in the three states, party MP from Kerala Benny Mehnan and former MP JD Seelam have been appointed as observers for the Meghalaya polls.

Also Read: Manipur govt prepares for state-wide Covid mock drill on Dec 27

For Nagaland, former Goa chief minister Francisco Sardinha and K Jayakumar, both MPs, have been appointed as observers while the Congress’s Delhi unit leader Arvinder Singh Lovely and party MP Abdul Khaleque have been named observers for the Tripura polls.

Assembly polls in the three northeastern states, where Congress will seek to wrest power, are slated for 2023.