Tezpur IGNOU

Tezpur, April 05: Tezpur University, situated in Assam, has appointed Professor Shambhu Nath Singh, who was previously affiliated with Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), as its new vice-chancellor.

President Droupadi Murmu, who serves as the university’s visitor, made the appointment. Professor Singh assumed the position on April 1 and will serve for five years.

Professor Singh, who earned his Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) from Jawaharlal Nehru University, took over from Dhruba Kumar Bhattacharyya, who was serving as the acting vice-chancellor at Tezpur University. Professor Singh’s thesis on “Sanchar-Kranti Aur Vikassheel Desh” (Communication Revolution and Developing Countries) was named the Best Thesis of the Year.

Before joining Tezpur University, Singh was the vice-chancellor of Patna University in Bihar and the founding director of IGNOU’s School of Journalism and New Media Studies. He has also served as a visiting professor at the Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC) in New Delhi, the International Media Institute (IMI) in Gurgaon, and a senior professor at Jagran Institute of Management and Mass Communication (JIMMC) in Noida.

Also Read: China’s Attempt to rename places in Arunachal Pradesh is strongly opposed by the US

In addition to his work with these institutions, Singh serves as the visitor’s nominee to Dr. Hari Singh Gaur University Sagar Madhya Pradesh, Maulana Azad National Urdu University in Hyderabad, and as the chancellor’s nominee to Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith University in Varanasi and the University of Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh. He has also chaired the Draft Statute Committee for Promotion and Appointments in Universities across Bihar.

Professor Singh is a member of the board of studies, selection committees, finance committees, and curriculum committees for several central and state universities in India.

On the international level, he represented the country in the prestigious ‘International Leadership Visitor Programme – US’ sponsored by the United States Department of State in 2007. In 1997, he was honored with the ‘Harmony Award’ for his contributions to journalism, and in 2002-2003, he received the ‘Sahityakar Award’ for his contributions to Hindi journalism.