INS Vikrant

Kochi, Sep 02: Prime Minister Narendra Modi commissioned India’s first indigenously designed and constructed plane service INS Vikrant on Friday, which positioned India right into a pick-out league of nations with the home functionality to construct such huge warships.

The Prime Minister commissioned the service, constructed at a fee of Rs 20,000 crore, at a feature prepared on the Cochin Shipyard Limited in Kochi. With the commissioning of Vikrant, India joined a pick-out institution of countries having the area of interest functionality to indigenously layout and construct a plane service.

PM Modi unveiled a plaque to mark the induction of INS Vikrant, named after its predecessor that performed an important position withinside the 1971 Indo-Pak war, into the Navy.

The service is prepared with modern features. During the event, PM additionally unveiled the brand new Naval Ensign (Nishaan), eliminating the colonial past. The new insignia represents the wealthy Indian maritime heritage.

Here are five things to know about the symbol:

  1. The new ensign consists of the National Flag in the upper left canton, and a navy blue-gold octagon at the center.
  2. The eight corners of the octagon symbolize the multi-dimensional approach of the Navy.
  3. The octagon has two golden borders encompassing the national emblem underscribed with ‘Satyamev Jayate’
  4. The motto of the Indian Navy ‘Sam No Varunah’ is inscribed within the Octagon.
  5. This is the fifth change in the naval ensign since 1950.

Also Read: Assam: CM Himanta Biswa Sarma launch Rashtriya Poshan Maah 2022

Present naval ensign

The naval ensign till now turned into the St George’s pink pass set on a white background, with the country-wide brand located on the intersection and the Indian flag withinside the pinnacle left quadrant.

The purchaser saint of England, St George lived withinside the third century and continues to be diagnosed with beliefs of honour and gallantry.

The Indian Naval Ensign has modified more than one instance considering that Independence. It turned into best in 2001 that the St George’s Cross turned into taken out and the Indian Navy’s crest turned into introduced to the other nook of the ensign. The pass turned positioned returned once more in 2004 with the addition of the brand of India on the intersection of the pass.

How We Win over those who Dare to Fight

How Long? – 262.5 mtr

How Wide? – 62.5 mtr

How Much do we Displace? – 42,800 tons

How Fast? – 28 knots

How so Fast? – 4 Gas Turbines

How Much Power? – 8x DAs = 24 Mega Watts

Eyes and Ears – 

  • RAN-401 3D Air Surveillance Radar
  • MF-STAR (fitted for)
  • Rezistor-E Aviation Complex
  • Shakti EW Suite
  • Diver Detection System

Self Protection – 

  • Kavach Chaff Decoy System
  • Torpedo Decoy System (fitted for)

Fists of Fury – 

  • Barak-8 SAM (fitted for)
  • AK-630 Close in Weapon System
  • Stabilised Remote Controlled Guns

Wings of Fury – Combination of over 30 Fighters and Helicopters that Vilrant can operate

The Milestones Enroute

2005 – The Journey of a Thousand Miles begins with a single step. Steel cutting begins on 11 April 2005.

2009 – The Backbone’ of the Ship. 25 February 2009 – The keel of the ship is laid.

2012 – The Finishing Touches to the Path to the Skies! The Ski-Jump is integrated

2013 – Reborn in an Indigenous Avatar. Ceremonially launched on 13 August 2013.

2020 – Powered Up and Ready to Propel. Successfully completed its Basin Trials on 30 November 2020.

2021-22 – Rigorous Sea Trials August 2021 to July 2022.

2022 – M/s Cochin Shipyard Limited delivers the ship to the Indian Navy on 8 July 2022