Mizo Accord is an exemplary peace agreement, ‘model of peace’: CM Zoramthanga

Mizoram, June 30: Mizoram chief minister and Mizo National Front (MNF) president Zoramthanga on Tuesday said the historic Mizoram or Mizo peace accord signed in 1986 was the most successful accord in the country and is a model of peace.

Locally known as “Remna Ni”, the anniversary of the signing of the historic ‘Mizo accord’ between the central government and the erstwhile underground MNF, is celebrated every year on June 30.

However, there will be no official function to mark the peace accord day this year due to the spread of Covid-19.

Zoramthanga greeted the people on the occasion of the 35th anniversary of the peace accord. The Mizoram peace accord was the most successful peace accord ever signed by the government of India because not a single person took up arms to carry out underground activities from the state after the signing of the peace accord, he added.

We abide by the accord cent per cent. No arms or ammunition were left behind. Everything was handed over to the Indian government, which is also praiseworthy as it has done very well in its part to fulfil the term and conditions of the peace accord,” the former rebel leader turned politician said in a statement.

The MNF leader claimed that the Mizo accord has become an exemplary peace accord as it is taken as a model of peace by neighbouring states and countries.

It is legally binding and invaluable. All the requirement we wanted to incorporate in the constitution was added through Article 371 (G). The union government even awarded us with a peace bonus to the tune of over Rs 182 crore,” the three-time chief minister said.

Mizoram’s sports Minister Robert Romawia Royte took a tweet and greet the people of Mizoram, “Greetings and warm wishes to all people of Mizoram and all Mizos across the globe on Remna Ni, the 35th Anniversary of signing the Peace Accord between Mizo National Front and India. Respect & Salute to all Peace Makers. Let us all unite for continued Peace and Harmony. #PeacePays

Citing that people from different walks of life were involved in the signing of the Mizoram peace accord, Zoramthanga said that the people, various political parties, churches, NGOs and student organizations were invited to contribute what was necessary for the accord prior to its signing in 1986.

Urging the people to value the historic peace accord, the chief minister said, “I implore my fellow Mizos to take pride in this gift of God we received and to preserve it for generations to come. Peace pays, and I believe that, through brotherhood and understanding, our neighbours can eventually come by the peace we enjoy today.”

Mizo Accord is an exemplary peace agreement, ‘model of peace’: CM Zoramthanga

The Mizoram peace accord was signed between the Centre and MNF on June 30, 1986, ending two decades of insurgency, after which Mizoram became the 23rd Indian state on February 20, 1987.

Mizoram was part of Assam until 1972 when it was carved out as a Union Territory.

The MNF was founded by former Mizoram chief minister late Laldenga to protest against the inaction of the Centre towards the famine situation in the Mizo areas of the Assam state in the late 1950s.

Also Read: Remna Ni celebrated in Mizoram


After a major uprising through peaceful means, the group took up arms and involved in underground activities between 1966 and 1986.

After coming to the overground in 1986, the MNF was converted into a political party and is now a recognized regional or state party.

The MNF has won assembly polls in 1986, 1998, 2003, and 2018. Due to the incumbency wave, the party suffered a heavy defeat by winning only 3 out of 40 seats in the 2008 assembly elections.

With its strong, total prohibition agenda and the incumbency wave on the ruling Congress, the MNF came back to power in 2018 assembly polls under the leadership of Zoramthanga by sweeping 26 seats and later won one more seat in the assembly bypoll.

The party now has 27 members in the 40-member state assembly. The MNF is a member of the BJP-led North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA).