3 BJP MLA resign and join congress in Manipur

BJP-led Manipur government in trouble after 9 MLAs withdraw support, three BJP MLA s join Congress

Guwahati, June 17: The BJP-led Manipur government is in trouble after three BJP MLA s have resigned from the party and joined Congress on Wednesday.

Apart from it, four ministers of National People’s Party (NPP) including Deputy Chief Minister Y Joykumar Singh have tendered their resignations as a minister and withdrew support to the N Biren Singh-led government.

The lone Trinamool Congress MLA and the Independent MLA have also withdrawn their support from the BJP-led Manipur government.

According to the reports, three BJP legislators –Subhash Chandra Singh, TT Haokip and Samuel Jendai had resigned as BLP MLAs and joined the Congress in Imphal.

On the other hand, lone Trinamool Congress MLA in Manipur T Robindro Singh and Independent MLA Ashabuddin also withdrew support to the ruling alliance.


Four MLAs of NPP including Deputy Chief Minister Y Joykumar Singh and N. Kayisii, L Jayanta Kumar Singh, Letpao Haokip had also withdrawn support to the BJP-led government and creating political instability in the North-Eastern state.

One seat in the 60-member Manipur assembly was vacant after the disqualification of Th Shyamkumar.

In 2017 assembly polls, Congress won 28 seats while BJP won 21 seats, but BJP had formed its first government in Manipur with the support from four NPF MLAs, four NPP MLAs and one each from Trinamool Congress and Independent.

BJP’s strength in Manipur has now reduced to 18.

Former Manipur Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Okram Ibobi Singh said that Congress has 27 MLAs and they have support from four NPP MLAs and one each Trinamool Congress and Independent MLA.

After support from NPP, Trinamool Congress and Independent MLAs, our strength is now increased to 33,” Okram Ibobi Singh said.

On the other hand, a top leader of Manipur Congress said that the party would likely to meet the Manipur governor and urge to call a special session of Manipur assembly.