Guwahati, July 06: Ahead of a major reshuffle in the cabinet, the Union government on Tuesday appointed new governors in 8 states. P S Sreedharan Pillai, who was Mizoram Governor, has been appointed as the governor of Goa.

He will be replaced by Hari Babu Kambhampati Thaawarchand Gehlot, who is presently cabinet minister of social justice and BJP’s Rajya Sabha leader has been appointed as Governor of Karnataka.

Also Read: Meghalaya governor writes to Amit Shah over ‘mysterious’ death of 2 Garos in Gurugram

Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel will take charge as Governor of Madhya Pradesh and Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar as Governor of Himachal Pradesh.

Satyadev Narayan Arya, Haryana Governor will move to Tripura. Tripura Governor Ramesh Bais has been transferred to Jharkhand.