BJP Guwahati Municipal

Guwahati, April 24: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally, the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), are inching closer to a near-clean sweep in Assam’s Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) elections.

The counting of votes is currently underway, and is being held two days after the polling took place for 57 out of the total 60 wards in the civic body; the ruling BJP had already won three wards unopposed. These were the first GMC elections since 2013 and witnessed a turnout of 52.80 percent.

The Congress contested the highest number of wards (54), followed by the BJP (50), new entrant Aam Aadmi Party (39), and the Assam Jatiya Parishad (25).

The AGP contested on seven wards, according to its seat-sharing formula with the saffron party. Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanks Guwahati for giving a ‘resounding mandate’ to the BJP, AGP.

The opposition Congress, the second biggest party in the state assembly after the BJP, failed to win even a single seat while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) made its debut in Guwahati by winning one seat. Assam Jatiya Party (AJP) also won one seat.

“I bow my head to the people of Guwahati for giving BJP and its allies a historic win in GMC elections. With this massive mandate, people have reaffirmed their faith in our development journey under the guidance of Prime Minister Narendra Modi,” chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma tweeted.

Also Read: Watch Video: PM Modi tries his hand on traditional musical instruments during Bihu celebration

The election to GMC was last held in 2013 in which the Congress had won 19 of the total 31 wards. The BJP candidates bagged 11 wards, and one was won by AGP.

This time, the number of total wards was increased to 60 and 50% of them were reserved for women candidates. A total of 200 candidates were in the fray for the 60 wards. Three candidates from the BJP (Wards 5, 6, and 22) had won uncontested.

The BJP had swept the municipal board polls held in March by winning 759 of the total 977 wards. The party and its allies were able to wrest power in 75 of the total 80 municipal boards, which went to the polls.