Droupadi President

New Delhi, July 21: India to get its 15th President on July 21, this time, the contest is between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led candidate Droupadi Murmu and opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha. The counting of votes to elect the new President will take place on Thursday at the Parliament House from 11 am onwards.

Droupadi Murmu is seen to have a clean aspect in the contest. If Murmu gets elected she can be the primary tribal female to occupy the pinnacle constitutional publish withinside the country.

Incumbent President Ram Nath Kovind’s tenure is finishing on July 24 and the brand new president will take oath on July 25.

On Thursday, the counting will take area in Room No 63 in Parliament House and the end result can be declared right now after that. The on-the-spot precincts of Room Number 63 had been declared as sanitized and “silent zone”.

Only counting officers, officers deployed to help the Rajya Sabha Secretary General, applicants and one authorized consultant of every candidate, observers appointed through the Election Commission, and media people with legitimate passes can be allowed access into the counting hall. Rajya Sabha Secretary General PC Mody is the returning officer for the Presidential election.

Also Read: Presidential poll: 59 out of 60 MLAs cast votes till noon in Arunachal Pradesh

Mody will first short at the ballot developments in any case votes of MPs had been counted.

All ballot boxes from state assemblies had reached the Parliament’s strongroom on Tuesday evening and have been locked there since. The poll packing containers were flown into the country-wide capital as ‘Mr Ballot Box’ from throughout the states.

According to the EC, each ballot box was issued an e-ticket under the name ‘Mr Ballot Box’. ‘Mr Ballot Box’ came seated in the front row of aircraft under the watchful gaze of the Assistant Returning Officers (AROs) of their respective states.

The balloting to decide on the country’s new Rashtrapati (President) concluded on July 18 in the Parliament House and at 31 specified locations withinside the capitals of all states except the Union Territories of Puducherry and Delhi.

Over 99% of the full electors had forged their poll withinside the ballot that occurred Monday, in line with the Election Commission.

8 MPs, which includes BJP MPs Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre, have been amongst folks who neglected to cast their votes.

Actor-politician Deol missed voting since he is abroad for medical treatment, while Dhotre gave it a pass since he was in the ICU.

2 MPs from BJP and Shiv Sena, and one from the BSP, Congress, SP, and AIMIM neglected balloting withinside the Monday (July 18) polls.

How an Indian President is elected?

Members of Parliament (MPs) of each Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, besides nominated MPs, and all MLAs in a legislative meeting in all states act as electors withinside the presidential election.

An overall of 4,809 electors, comprising 776 MPs and 4,033 elected MLAs, are entitled to vote withinside the election, however, nominated MPs and MLAs, and Members of the Legislative Council are not.

Also Read: Assam CM,123 MLAs cast votes for presidential election

Droupadi Murmu’s place of origin assured of her win, gears up for celebration:

Laddus are being organized and hoardings had been placed up congratulating “Odisha’s daughter” as presidential nominee Droupadi Murmu’s place of origin Rairangpur expressed self-belief in her win and was ready for celebrations on Wednesday, hours earlier than the statement of effects.

Droupadi President

Folk artists and tribal dancers rehearsed their performances and are equipped to hit the streets as quickly because the effects are declared. They are ready with bated breath to witness the primary tribal female president of the country.

Droupadi President

“We are getting ready 20,000 laddus and feature placed up one hundred banners congratulating Murmu, who has her residence in our city,” nearby BJP chief Tapan Mahanta said.

Several businesses have deliberate mass feats as humans from rural regions are probably to throng Rairangpur city in Mayurbhanj district from noon.