Arunachal Airport

Itanagar, Aug 23: Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu has shared a glimpse of the newly constructed Donyi Polo Airport at Hollongi near Itanagar.

While sharing the pictures of the new state-of-the-art terminal building on Twitter, he wrote that “Magnificent and stunning! Itanagar airport is a great asset for us, providing seamless air connectivity to our people. It has now got a new state-of-the-art terminal building. We’re committed to putting in place better connectivity facilities to ensure complete ease of travel.”

The never-ending wait for the inauguration of the newly constructed Donyi Polo airport at Hollongi near Itanagar in Arunachal Pradesh continues.

The inauguration of the Donyi Polo airport in Arunachal Pradesh has been postponed till October. This was informed by Arunachal Pradesh minister Nakap Nalo.

Also Read: Inauguration of Donyi Polo airport in Arunachal Pradesh postponed till October

The airport in Arunachal Pradesh was supposed to be inaugurated on August 15 on the occasion of India’s 75th Independence Day.

The name of the only airport in the capital city, according to the official, would represent the long-standing customs and rich cultural legacy of the tribally dominant state and would also reflect the long-standing indigenous respect for the Sun (Donyi) and the Moon (Polo) among the populace.

The airport is built in an area covering 685 acres at an estimated cost of Rs 660 crore. The airport in Arunachal Pradesh can accommodate up to 300 passengers during peak hours with eight check-in counters. The airport is suitable for the operations of Airbus-320 type of aircraft.

The “Donyi Polo Airport” in Itanagar would be Arunachal Pradesh`s third airport after Pasighat and Tezu airports and northeast India`s 16th airport.

The Chief Minister had earlier said that work on the airport is on war-footing and shall be made operational soon. Currently, there are 15 operational airports in the northeastern region -Guwahati, Silchar, Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Tezpur, Lilalabari, and Rupsi (Assam), Tezu and Pasighat (Arunachal Pradesh), Agartala (Tripura), Imphal (Manipur), Shillong (Meghalaya), Dimapur (Nagaland), Lengpui (Mizoram) and Pakyong (Sikkim).