Major reshuffle in Manipur cabinet: 6 ministers dropped, 5 inducted

Manipur, September 27: In an important development in the state, the proposal of dropping 6 cabinet ministers have been accepted by Manipur governor Najma Heptulla earlier this week on Thursday. This comes at a time when the state is just ahead of the by-election process.

Just before the dropping of the 6 ministers, 5 new ministers were inducted within the government. 2 of them were former Congress MLAs who have now joined the BJP. While 1 place has been left open.

The Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla administer the oath at Raj Bhawan on Thursday evening & attended by Manipur Chief Minister N. Biren along with some BJP leader.

The five new faces, who were sworn in as ministers include Okram Henry Singh of Wangkhei Assembly Constituency, Oinam Lukhoi Singh of Wangoi Assembly Constituency, Vungzagin Valte of Thanlon Assembly Constituency, Salam Rajen of Lamsang Assembly Constituency, Th Satyabarta Yaiskul Assembly Constituency.

Okram Henry and Oinam Lukhoi defected from the Congress party recently.

On September 23, the state Chief Minister N. Biren Singh proposed dropping of 6 ministers (3 from the BJP, 2 from the NPP and 1 from the LJP) from the Manipur state cabinet. The ministers included Agricultural Minister V Hangkhalian, Social Welfare Minister Nemcha Kipgen and Education & Labour Minister Th Radheshyam, CAF & PD Minister Karam Shyam (LJP), Health Minister L Jayentakumar (NPP) & Hills &bTribals & Affair Minister N Kayisii

Following the proposal, the governor announced acceptance of it in a statement.

Chief Minister, N. Biren Singh had rushed to New Delhi on September 21 with BJP state president, S. Tikendra Singh to meet Union Home Minister, Amit Shah. The two returned to Imphal on Tuesday, accompanied by BJP national vice president, Baijayant Panda. They were sparking speculation of possible state cabinet reshuffle.

The talk of a possible reshuffle flooded social media to the extent of naming a handful of MLAs who were possible contenders for ministerial berth. O. Henry Singh, former MLA of Wangkhei, O. Likhoi, former MLA of Wangoi, Vunzangin Valte, sitting MLA of Thanlon and T.H. Yaiskul, MLA of Satyabrata were among the contenders.