Tripura bypolls Manik

Agartala, June 27: Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha won the bypolls from the Town Bardowali seat by a margin of 6,104. BJP emerged as the clear gainer in the June 23 bypolls to three Lok Sabha and seven assembly seats across five states and Delhi, overcoming a blip in Tripura along the way.

Congress won Agartala at BJP’s expense, thanks to defector Sudip Roy Barman retaining his seat, but the saffron party’s Malina Debnath made up for it by wresting Jubarajnagar from CPM.

Tripura CM Manik Saha won his first electoral battle from Town Bardowali and party colleague Swapna Das Paul triumphed in Surna to make it three out of four for BJP.

Congress’s other win came through Shilpi Neha Tirkey in the Mandar constituency of Jharkhand, a seat held by her father Bandhu Tirkey until he was expelled from the erstwhile JVM (P) and jailed for corruption.

Also Read: Tripura Assembly Bypolls Results: BJP candidate and CM Manik Saha wins Town Bardowali seat

AAP’s Durgesh Pathak retained the Rajinder Nagar seat in Delhi for his party while Mekapati Vikram Reddy of YSRC won Atmakur in AP.

Meanwhile, UP CM Yogi Adityanath said BJP’s victory in Azamgarh and Rampur was a signal that the people of the state would no longer accept “dynastic and casteist parties, and those who incite communal tension and protect criminals”.

He said the grand double was also an endorsement of the BJP’s double-engine government under PM Narendra Modi’s leadership.

SP blamed its defeat on the “misuse of official machinery” by BJP. “Let elections be conducted honestly. I say the international court of justice should come and conduct elections here. If my candidate gets defeated then, I will leave politics,” Azam said. Akhilesh accused BJP of “subverting all democratic traditions”.