Tripura Municipal

Agartala, Nov 25: Elections for over 200 seats in municipal bodies of Tripura is going on Thursday. Tripura state elections Commission (SEC) has announced the elections to 20 urban local bodies including Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) in all eight districts in the state.

The ruling Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) won 112 out of the total 334 seats uncontested in the Agartala Municipal Corporation and 19 urban local bodies earlier this month.

Elections for the reaming 222 seats are scheduled for Thursday. The counting of votes will take place on November 28. There are a total of 334 seats in the 20 urban local bodies that comprise six Nagar Panchayats, 13 Municipal Council, and Municipal Corporation.

Also Read: Tripura Police denies permission for Abhishek Banerjee rally in Agartala but allowed the street corner meetings

There are 785 candidates in the fray, and over 5.94 lakh people are entitled to vote.

Of the total of 644 polling stations, 370 have been identified as ‘ A’ category where four Tripura State Rifles personnel will be deployed. In the remaining 274 ‘B’ category polling stations, four armed police personnel would be stationed.

Hours before people in the state’s urban areas vote for new municipal bodies, Tripura’s Communist Party of India (Marxist) leader Jitendra Chaudhary on Wednesday rushed to the Supreme Court to seek its intervention to ensure free and fair civic body elections, CPM leaders said late on Wednesday.

On Tuesday, the Supreme Court rejected the Trinamool Congress request to defer the civic body polls but told the police to submit within two days an action-taken report on incidents of violence in the state ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).