AICF awards

Abu Dhabi, March 01: In the Asian Chess Federation annual summit which is under progress at Abu Dhabi, UAE, the All-India Chess Federation (AICF) has once again proved its mettle and bagged the Most Active Federation Awards. AICF President, Dr. Sanjay Kapoor, received the prestigious award on behalf of the Federation.

Speaking on the achievement, AICF President, Dr. Sanjay Kapoor said, “The last twelve months have been extraordinary for Chess in India. As the AICF President, it is a privilege for me to be at the forefront of this revolution. I am really proud to see India shining and our players doing well in every tournament they participate in around the world.”

This year, India has bagged multiple awards at the Asian Chess Excellence Awards 2023.

Also Read: Nagaland election: Repoll in 4 polling stations today

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M K Stalin has been conferred with the Man of the Year Award for his invaluable involvement in the successful hosting of the 44th FIDE Chess Olympiad at Mahabalipuram on short notice of just four months. Grandmaster D Gukesh bagged the Player of the Year award for his outstanding performance in winning the gold medal on Board number one in the Olympiad.

In other categories, for the bronze medal-winning performance in Olympiad, the Indian women’s team comprising Koneru Humpy, D Harika, R Vaishali, Tania Sachdev, and Bhakti Kulkarni was adjudged as Best Women team of the year.

Grandmaster R B Ramesh bagged the Coach of the year and Grandmaster Abhijit Kunte, Women’s Coach of the year awards. Grandmaster Leon Luke Mendonca received the Best Junior Player award for his performance in the World Junior Chess Championship where he tied for the 1st position while winning the Under-14 World Championship, Ilamparathi A R was awarded the Youth Player of the Year award.

All India Chess Federation President Dr. Sanjay Kapoor, Asian Chess Federation Deputy President Bharat Singh Chauhan, and Asian Zone 3.7 President Ajay Patel congratulated all the award winners and thanked everyone for their support for their valuable support that helped All India Chess Federation to bag the Most Active Federation award once again.