Arunachal Pradesh: 6 JD (U) MLAs join BJP before the poll results

Arunachal, Dec 26: The Janata Dal (United), or JD (U) received a major jolt in Arunachal Pradesh, as six of its seven MLAs shifting allegiance to the ruling the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). It has been issued by the state legislative assembly.

MLA from the People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA), Kardo Nyigyor from the Likabali constituency has also joined the saffron party.

JD (U) national president and Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar, however, downplayed the development and said “It’s not a big issue. The national executive is meeting on December 26 and 27. Right now, we are focusing on our proposed meeting. They have gone their own way.”

The development comes a day ahead of the announcement of the panchayat and municipal poll results. Talem Taboh from Rumgong Assembly Constituency, Hayeng Mangfi (Chayang Tajo), Jikke Tako (Tali), Dorjee Wangdi Kharma (Kalaktang), Dongru Siongju (Bomdila), and Kanggong Taku from Mariyang-Geku constituency are the MLAs from JD (U) MLAs switch to saffron.

On November 26, the JD (U) had issued show-cause notices to Siongju, Kharma, and Taku for “anti-party” activities, and suspended them. The six JDU MLAs had earlier elected Talem Taboh as the new Legislature Party leader, allegedly without the knowledge of the senior party members.

The PPA MLA was also suspended by the regional outfit earlier this month. “We have accepted their letters conveying the intention to join the party,” BJP’s Arunachal Pradesh president B R Waghe said.

Following the switchover, the BJP now has 48 MLAs in the 60-member House, while the JD(U) is left with only one.