Assam BJP expels 15 leaders in Assam for contesting elections as independents

Assam, March 18: The Assam BJP on Thursday expelled 15 leaders, including former deputy speaker Dilip Kumar Paul, from the party for six years for joining the assembly poll fray as Independents after being denied tickets.

BJP state general secretary Rajdeep Roy said the party’s Assam chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass has approved the disciplinary action with immediate effect.

The list of 15 members include Paul, who resigned from the BJP after he was denied a ticket and is contesting as an Independent from the Silchar constituency.

Out of 126 seats in Assam Assembly, BJP is contesting in 92 and has left the remaining to its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL).

Besides Dilip Kumar paul, 14 more party members have been expelled from the party for six years from the primary membership for contesting the assembly election as Independent candidate going against the party decision.

Also Read: Assam polls 2021: BJP to contest on 92 seats, releases list of candidates for the third phase


Following members who were expelled are –Rao Gajendra Singh, Naoboisha, Priyanka Neog, Chabua, Laksheshwar Moran, Doomdooma, Tarun Sahu, Dhekiajuli, Theba Singh, Lakhipur, Ashish Haldar, Sonai, Kshitish Ranjan Paul, Hailakandi, Ram Kumar Nunia, Katlichera, Manoj Mahan Deb, Hailakandi, Seema Engtipi, Baithalangshu, Hemanta Adhikari, Borsola, Debajit Moran, Doomdooma, Rajesh Kishan, Doomdooma, and Dilip Bay, Diphu.