Guwahati, May 02: Assam Minister and senior BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma won from Jalukbari constituency by a margin of more than one lakh votes. Sarma, BJP’s key strategist in the northeast, defeated his nearest rival, Congress’ Romen Chandra Borthakur, by 1,01,911 votes.

“It would be my privilege to represent the constituency for 5th consecutive term. My gratitude to the people of Jalukbari, PM Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP national president JP Nadda,” Himanta said.


Also Read: Overcast sky, isolated thunderstorm likely over NW India for 4-5 days


In the 2016 Assam election, Himanta Biswa Sarma won the Jalukbari seat by a margin of 85,935 votes. Sarma has been representing the Jalukbari seat since 2001.

The ruling BJP-led NDA in Assam is leading in 77 assembly seats, while the Grand Alliance spearheaded by the Congress is ahead in 40 places, according to the trends available on the Election Commission’s website.