Assam CM campaigns for UPPL Tamulpur by-poll candidate

Assam, Oct 18: With the Assam assembly by-polls slated to be held on October 30, CM Himanta Biswa Sarma appealed to voters of Tamulpur constituency, which falls in the Bodoland territorial region, to ensure a big win for BJP’s ally United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) for the all-round development of the constituency and the region.

Sarma said UPPL candidate Jalen Daimary will get at least 80% votes in the polls. The seat fell vacant after the UPPL MLA from the constituency, Lehoram Boro, died of Covid-19 in May.

The CM said peace has permanently come to the region after the tripartite Bodo Accord was signed last year. “Due to constant effort, the atmosphere of fear, which was there at least 10 years ago, changed after Narendra Modi became the prime minister in 2014,” he added.

He believed people will vote for UPPL in the interest of peace, unity, brotherhood, and development in the region.

He thanked Chandi Basumatary, Deben Boro, and Emmanuel Mushahary for withdrawing their nominations to extend support to UPPL on Saturday. They had filed their nominations as Independent candidates.

Meanwhile, the CM announced that a bridge will be constructed over the Pagladia river at Kharanie in Tamulpur at a cost of Rs 600 crore to enhance better communication. He also took stock of the bridge that is being constructed over the Pagladia river at Jartaluk.

Also Read: Pakistan’s ISI plans to carry out big terror strike in Assam and other parts of India, Assam police issues high alert circular


Slamming the Congress, the CM said the Congress is playing football without a goalkeeper. “Development is possible only under the rule of BJP and its allies,” he added.

It may be mentioned that Tamulpur was the only seat among all five constituencies where the BJP-led alliance won in the assembly elections held in March-April.

Among the other four seats, Congress had won Mariani and Thowra, while All India United Democratic Front had won Bhabanipur and Bodoland Peoples’ Front had won Gossaigaon seats.

The sitting MLAs of Mariani, Thowra, and Bhabanipur later quit their parties, and joined BJP, while the Gossaigaon MLA died of Covid-19.

The CM added that BJP and its allies will give a spectacular performance in all five constituencies.