Assam districts

Guwahati, Jan 01: The Assam government merged four districts — Biswanath, Hojai, Bajali, and Taulpur – with four others that have been carved out in current years.

Chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma stated that the decision was taken at a state cabinet meeting in New Delhi before the Election Commission’s ban on redrawing administrative units takes effect from January 1 in view of the delimitation exercise in the state.

A notification has been issued, however, the CM stated that is a “temporary” measure and the government may reconsider the decision after the delimitation process is completed.

Also Read: Sikkim: Nathu-la permission process halted after snowfall

“For the greater interest of Assam and for strengthening Jati-Mati-Bheti as well as the administrative strength, we have decided to remerge the four districts,” Sarma told reporters at Assam House in Delhi.

“Biswanath district will be merged with Sonitpur, Hojai with Nagaon, Bajali with Barpeta, and Tamulpur with Baksa,” he stated. Assam had 35 districts until the merge.

Police districts will continue to exist in the four areas and the judicial setup will also continue to function unhindered. “All other district offices, which have been created during the period, will continue to function as usual,” Sarma said.

“I am personally not happy, but the decision was not taken for personal or party gains. Such a harsh decision was unavoidable for the interest of the country, society, and administration,” he said.