Manipur Assembly elections

Imphal, Mar 05: Voting for the second phase of Manipur Assembly elections is taking place on Saturday. In the second phase, 92 candidates are in the fray across 22 assembly constituencies. The first phase of voting for Manipur polls was held on February 28. The polling was marred by sporadic incidents of violence and a re-poll was ordered in 12 polling stations in three districts.

Re-poll in these areas where EVMs were damaged by miscreants is also taking place on Saturday. Polling started at 7 am and will continue till 4 pm.

Here check out the updates:

  • Allegations of an attempt to hijack an EVM in Thanlon assembly constituency in Manipur have surfaced. The returning officer has sent a request for airlifting of the EVM to Tinsuong polling station.
  • The BJP candidate for Karong Assembly constituency in Manipur reported that an altercation at a polling station resulted in police allegedly resorting to firing. One person has been killed in the incident. Election commission officials said they are waiting for a report from the district election officer.

  • Voter turnout of 28.19 per cent was recorded till 11 am in the second phase of Manipur polls.DISTRICT-WISE VOTER TURNOUT1 Thoubal 29.55%
    2 Chandel 28.24%
    3 Ukhrul 30.66%
    4 Senapati 27.86%
    5 Tamenglong 20.41%
    6 Jiribam 32.68%
  • 11.4% voter turnout recorded till 9 am in second phase of Manipur polls
  • Thokchom Radheshyam Singh, BJP’s candidate from Heirok assembly seat in Manipur, cast his vote on Saturday. The retired IPS officer said, “Polls will decide the future of Manipur. I’ll win by a margin of at least 5000 votes.”
  • In a tweet, PM Modi wrote, “Today is the second phase of the Manipur Assembly elections. Calling upon all those whose constituencies are polling today to vote in large numbers and mark the festival of democracy.”

  • Former Manipur CM and Congress leader Okram Ibobi Singh cast his vote in the Manipur election after a brief delay at the polling station due to a technical error. “They said that there is some technical error,” said Singh, who is contesting from the Thoubal Assembly seat.
  • Voters maintain social distancing at polling stations in Manipur


  • Voting for the last phase of the Manipur Assembly elections 2022 began at 7 am. 92 candidates across 22 Assembly constituencies are in the fray. Repolling is also being held at 12 polling stations across five constituencies that went to the polls on February 28 in the first phase.