Manipur, August 10: The persisting political crisis in Manipur has taken another turn as Chief Minister N. Biren Singh has moved confidence motion in the state assembly on Monday.

Accepting the notice for the trust vote by the leader of the house and state’s Chief Minister Singh, Manipur State Secretary, M Ramani Devi rejected the Congress’s plea for moving a no-confidence motion against the BJP ruled government on August 10th.

Speaking on the issue, Congress spokesperson of Manipur Ningomgbam Bupenda Meitei told a newspaper, “Instead of accepting the no-confidence motion moved by the Congress, the Manipur legislative assembly has accepted for a motion of confidence by BJP Manipur government, which is to be moved by leader of the house on 10th August, 2020.

The opposition Congress is confident to defeat the motion. The Congress has already issued three lines whip to all its 24 MLAs in the House. We will defeat the trust vote moved by the Treasury Bench. We will convert the people’s true mandate of 2017 into reality.” He added.

The Congress had decided on July 28th to move a motion of no-confidence against the ruling government on August 10th.

The brawl between the ruling BJP and the opposing Congress dates back to the 3 BJP legislators deserting the party to join Congress and 4 NPP ministers, one independent and one TMC candidate willing to lend support to the Congress withdrawing support from the BJP led Biren Singh government.

However, the 4 NPP ministers withdrew their resignation from the governor in a few days after the party’s central leadership assured the NPP Chief Conrad Sangma of “looking into our concerns personally“.

The 60 member House had won 21 seats in 2017 and formed the government with 4 NPP and 4 NPF MLAs. 1 Independent, 1 Trinamool Congress and 1 Lok Janashakti Party legislator. The Congress had emerged as the single largest party on the state with 28 votes. However, within some time, 8 Congress defectors joined the coalition government taking its numbers to 40.