Congress’s student wing NSUI wins 5 posts in Gauhati University PGSU election

Assam, Dec 2: The result of the Post Graduate Students’ Union (PSGU) election of the Gauhati University was out and Congress’s student wing NSUI and All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) registered a victory in 9 out of 15 posts.

NSUI won five posts including General Secretary of the PSGU of Gauhati University, on the other hand, AASU won four posts including the president’s post.

Congratulating the winners, Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Bhupen Borah tweeted, “Elated at the victory of #NSUI election in Gauhati University. Heartiest Congratulations to the newly elected General Secretary of GU Sri Biki Sharma, AGS Smt. Rashmi Kalita, and his team, Social Secy, Sri Bishub Medhi, Games Secy Ganesh Bado, Literary Secy G. Pratim Dev Sarma.”

NSUI-backed candidate Biki Sarmah won the general secretary post, while Rashmi Kalita won the assistant general secretary post. Gnyana Pratim Dev Sarma won the literary secretary post, Ganesh Boro won the sports secretary, and Bishub Medhi won the social service secretary post.

Also Read: Student leader lynching case: Main accused Neeraj Das dies in Assam accident


Meanwhile, AASU-backed candidate Hemen Kalita won the president post, while Bikram Hazarika won the minor games secretary post, Pallab Hazarika won the gymnasium secretary post, and Pratyashi Kalita won the music secretary post.

ABVP-backed candidate Khwrwmdao Basumutary won the major games secretary and Mun Mallick won the girls’ common room secretary post.

Satra ukti Sangra Samiti-backed candidate Nabadeep Borgohain won the vice-president post and BJP’s ally party Asom Gana Parishad’s (AGP) student wing Assam Chatra Parishad (ACP) won three posts.