Tripura CPI

Agartala, Jan 25: The principal opposition CPI (M) of Tripura announced the candidate for 44 seats keeping 13 reserved for Congress on Wednesday.

Addressing a press conference, Left Front Convener Narayan Kar stated that “Our main aim is to oust BJP from power. We came under the same banner just to oust BJP and throw the party from the state. We have appealed to all the anti-BJP secular and democratic forces to come together in a move to oust the saffron party”.

Kar similarly stated that this time the party has brought 24 new and fresh faces who will be contesting this election for the first time.

However, this time many veteran leaders like former Chief Minister Manik Sarkar, former finance minister Bhanu Lal Saha, Sahid Chowdhury, Badal Chowdhury, Jashbir Tripura, Tapan Chakraborty and Mabasar Ali from CPI (M) relieved this time.

Also Read: Unaccounted cash of over Rs 10 lakh seized in poll-bound Meghalaya

This time, amongst that 60 seats CPI (M) will contest 43 seats, Congress in 13, CPI in 1, RSP will contest 1 seat, and Forward Bloc in 1 while one candidate will contest one seat as an independent. In this election, six sitting candidates will be contesting while CPI (M) state committee secretary will be contesting from the 40-Sabroom Assembly Constituency.

From the Dhanpur Assembly constituency which was the home turf of former chief minister Manik Sarkar, now Kousik Chanda will be contested.

Tripura CPITripura CPI