New Delhi, Jan 25: On the eve of Republic Day, the President of India approved 5 names from the Northeast states of India for the Padma Awards 2023 on Thursday.

Among the Northeastern states of India, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Sikkim, and Assam received one Padma Award each.

Here is the list of personalities receiving the Padma Award 2023 from Northeast India:

  • Moa Subong, Nagaland

Padma Awards

  • Risingbor Kurkaland, Meghalaya

Padma Awards

  • K C Runremsangi, Mizoram

  • Tula Ram Upreti, Sikkim

  • Ramkuiwangbe Newme, Assam

Assam irrigation minister Ashok Singhal shared the news on Twitter and wrote, “Proud that out of all Padma Shri Awardees announced, 5 upstanding citizens of NorthEast are being honoured with the Padma Shri. Working silently far from the prying eyes of publicity, they have worked dedicatedly for the public good.”

The Padma Awards, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri, are amongst the highest civilian awards in the country. Instituted in 1954, these Awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

Also Read: CPI(M)-Congress releases candidate list for Tripura assembly polls 2023

The award seeks to recognize ‘work of distinction’ and is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in all fields/disciplines, such as Art, Literature and Education, Sports, Medicine, Social Work, Science and Engineering, Public Affairs, Civil Service, Trade and Industry, etc.

These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year. This year the President has approved the conferment of 128 Padma Awards including 2 duo cases (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one) as per the list below.

The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan, and 107 Padma Shri Awards. 34 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 13 Posthumous awardees.