Former Assam

Assam, Jan 26: Former Assam Chief Minister Late Tarun Gogoi was selected for the Padma Bhushan Award posthumously for his contribution to public affairs.

Gogoi, a three-time chief minister, and veteran Congress leader passed away at 86 in Guwahati on November 23 last year after a prolonged battle with post-COVID health complications.

Gogoi had led the Congress government for three consecutive terms from 2001 to 2016, during which he had taken bold decisions and dealt with insurgency and secret killings in the state with a firm hand.

Eight other achievers from Assam, including former BJP minister Bijoya Chakravarty, social worker Lakhimi Baruah, and artist Gopiram Borgayan Burabhakat, have been chosen for the Padma Shri awards.

Also Read: End of an Era: Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi no more

Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian awards of the country, are conferred in three categories: Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri.

The awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, like art, social work, public affairs, science, and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service. Padma Bhushan is awarded for distinguished service of a high order and Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.