1. KKR secures third IPL title with a commanding 113-run win over SRH in 2024 final.
2. Most one-sided IPL final ever as KKR bowled out SRH for 113, chasing the target comfortably.
3. Victory underscores KKR’s dominance and cements their status among IPL’s elite franchises.

Sports, May 27: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) claimed their third Indian Premier League (IPL) championship with a dominant 113-run victory over SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the 2024 IPL final at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

This victory marked the most one-sided IPL final in history, as KKR bowled out SRH for just 113 runs and chased down the target with 57 balls and 8 wickets to spare.

Shreyas Iyer joined the elite ranks of IPL-winning captains, becoming the second KKR skipper to lift the trophy after Gautam Gambhir, who led the team to titles in 2012 and 2014.

Gambhir, now a mentor for KKR, was present in the dugout to witness the historic triumph. Iyer’s accomplishment places him among distinguished Indian captains such as MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, and Hardik Pandya.

KKR’s resounding victory reaffirmed its status as one of the IPL’s most successful franchises. With their third title, they trail only Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI), who have five titles each.

In the final, KKR extended their season dominance over SRH, marking their third victory against Pat Cummins’s side in 2024.

Mitchell Starc spearheaded the attack with a devastating spell that dismantled SRH’s top order, while Andre Russell, making his first final appearance for KKR, took three crucial wickets, further crippling SRH’s innings.

Also Read: Cyclone Remal Weakens After Causing Heavy Damage in Bengal; Flights Still Grounded

Venkatesh Iyer was the standout performer with the bat for KKR, delivering a blistering 24-ball fifty that left SRH bowlers helpless. His aggressive innings ensured KKR chased down the modest target with ease.

SunRisers, known for their explosive batting throughout the season, faltered on the big day. They were bowled out for the lowest-ever total in an IPL final, a stark contrast to their season-high score of 287 runs posted earlier.

SRH’s formidable opening pair, Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma, failed to deliver, and the team struggled to recover from early setbacks. Captain Pat Cummins top-scored with 24 runs, but his efforts were in vain as KKR’s bowlers maintained relentless pressure.

The loss marked a disappointing end for SRH, who had revolutionized power-hitting in the 2024 IPL season. Their inability to replicate their regular-season success in the final underscored the unpredictability and pressure of knockout cricket.

KKR’s all-around excellence on the field and strategic acumen off it were key to their victory.

The franchise’s blend of seasoned stars and emerging talents has proven to be a winning formula, and their 2024 triumph adds another illustrious chapter to their storied IPL journey.