1. Lalduhoma, leader of ZPM, was sworn in as Mizoram’s new Chief Minister.
2. Historic shift ends MNF and Congress dominance in state governance.
3. Swearing-in ceremony at Raj Bhavan attended by ZPM leaders and outgoing Chief Minister Zoramthanga.

Aizawl, Dec 08: In a significant political shift in Mizoram, Lalduhoma, the leader of the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), took the oath as the new Chief Minister, marking a historic departure from the long-standing dominance of the Mizo National Front (MNF) and the Congress party in the state’s governance.

The swearing-in ceremony, administered by Governor Hari Babu Kambhampati at Raj Bhavan, witnessed the presence of ZPM leaders and outgoing Chief Minister Zoramthanga.

The ZPM registered as a political party in 2019, secured a remarkable victory in the Mizoram Assembly elections, winning 27 out of the 40 available seats. This electoral success challenged the 36-year duopoly of the MNF and Congress, promising a ‘new system’ for Mizoram’s political landscape.

Also Read: Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal Named BJP’s Central Observer for Chhattisgarh

The ZPM Legislature Party elected Lalduhoma as its leader and K. Sapdanga as the deputy leader on December 5. With a 40-member assembly, Mizoram can have 12 Ministers, including the Chief Minister.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by all MNF MLAs, including its legislature party leader Lalchhandama Ralte, and former Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla.

Here is the list of ministers and their respective portfolios:

  1. Lalduhoma – Chief Minister
  2. K. Sapdanga – Deputy Chief Minister
  3. Vanlalhlana
  4. C. Lalsawivunga
  5. Lalthasanga
  6. Vanlalthlana
  7. PC Vanlalruata
  8. Lalrinpuii
  9. Joseph J L Ralte
  10. Hmingdailova Khiangte
  11. Vanlalzawma
  12. Lalzuiliana Ralte

This change in leadership signifies a new chapter in Mizoram’s political narrative, with the ZPM emerging as a potent force challenging the traditional political order.