BJP Bengal chief Dilip Ghosh

Bengal, March 18: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) West Bengal chief Dilip Ghosh will not be contesting the upcoming Assembly elections, he revealed while speaking in New Town, Kolkata on Thursday.

My name won’t be there in the list of candidates contesting polls. Being state chief, the party has decided that poll campaigns in the state will be done under my supervision,” Ghosh said.

The BJP’s Central Election Committee on Wednesday finalized most candidates for constituencies going to polls in the last four phases of the West Bengal Assembly elections.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief JP Nadda, Union Ministers Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, and Nitin Gadkari, and other CEC members attended the meeting at party national headquarters in Delhi.

Names for the majority of seats were finalized and will be announced soon,” Babul Supriyo, Union minister and candidate from Tollygunge Assembly seat said.

Also Read: Amartya Sen has been married 3 times in 3 different religion: Dilip Ghosh BJP


The party has, so far, released the names of 112 candidates for the first four phases of the West Bengal Assembly elections. Four MPs including Babul Supriyo, Locket Chatterjee, Swapan Dasgupta, and Nisith Pramanik will be fighting the polls.

Economist Ashok Lahiri, actors Yash Das Gupta, Tanusree Chakraborty, Payal Sarkara, Anjana Basu and Hiraan Chatterjee have also been given tickets by the BJP.