Sudarshan Setu

1. PM Modi inaugurated Sudarshan Setu, India’s longest cable-stayed bridge, connecting Okha to Beyt Dwarka island.
2. The bridge spans 2.32 kilometers with a central double-span cable-stayed segment covering 900 meters.
3. An official statement from the Devbhumi Dwarka administration confirmed the bridge’s impressive dimensions.

Gandhinagar, Feb 25: Prime Minister Narendra Modi marked a historic moment on Sunday as he inaugurated the Sudarshan Setu, India’s longest cable-stayed bridge, linking Okha to Beyt Dwarka island in Gujarat.

The Sudarshan Setu stretches over an impressive 2.32 kilometers, featuring a central double-span cable-stayed segment covering 900 meters and a 2.45-kilometer-long approach road, as confirmed by an official statement from the Devbhumi Dwarka administration.

Constructed for Rs 979 crore, the bridge stands proud with a width of 27.20 meters, complete with 2.50-meter-wide footpaths on both sides to accommodate pedestrians and cyclists.

Originally named the ‘Signature Bridge,’ the structure was later rechristened as the ‘Sudarshan Setu,’ as revealed by District Magistrate (DM) GT Pandya.

Beyt Dwarka, situated near Okha port approximately 30 kilometers from Dwarka town, hosts the revered Dwarkadhish temple of Lord Krishna.

Also Read: Last Rites Of Odisha’s 14-Yr-Old Organ Donor Performed With State Honours in Puri

Presently, devotees traveling to the Beyt Dwarka temple are confined to daytime boat journeys.

However, with the completion of the bridge, authorities anticipate round-the-clock access to the sacred site.

In addition to inaugurating the bridge, Prime Minister Modi plans to visit Dwarka town to offer prayers at the Dwarkadhish temple and address a large gathering nearby later in the day.

Following the inauguration ceremony, the Prime Minister is scheduled to inaugurate and lay the foundation stone for various projects in Jamnagar, Devbhumi Dwarka, and Porbandar districts.

These projects include the electrification of a 533-kilometer railway line and the inauguration of two offshore pipelines under the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas at Vadinar.

Moreover, the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) announced PM Modi’s participation in the inauguration of five All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) campuses.

These include locations in Rajkot (Gujarat), Bathinda (Punjab), Raebareli (Uttar Pradesh), Kalyani (West Bengal), and Mangalagiri (Andhra Pradesh) during a public event in Rajkot.