Swapan Dasgupta resigns as Rajya Sabha MP after BJP fields him as Bengal poll candidate

Bengal, March 16: Swapan Dasgupta has resigned as a Rajya Sabha MP after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fielded him as a party candidate in the West Bengal Assembly elections. Swapan Dasgupta sent his resignation to the Rajya Sabha Chairperson Venkaiah Naidu on Tuesday.

Swapan Dasgupta will be contesting the upcoming West Bengal polls on a BJP ticket. BJP has fielded Dasgupta, one of its prominent faces in West Bengal, from the Tarakeshwar Assembly seat in Hoogly district.

The development has come hours after the Trinamool Congress (TMC) raised objections to his nomination as an assembly polls candidate from the BJP.

Trinamool Congress MP Mahua Moitra had said Swapan Dasgupta could be disqualified for filing nomination as a BJP candidate under the 10th Schedule of the Constitution.

In a tweet, Mahua Moitra said, “Swapan Dasgupta is BJP candidate for WB polls. 10th Schedule of Constitution says nominated RS member to be disqualified if he joins any political party AFTER expiry of 6 months from the oath. He was sworn in April 2016, remains unallied. Must be disqualified NOW for joining BJP.”

Also Read: Rajib Banerjee resigns as TMC MLA


Mahua Moitra also attached the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution. In another tweet, Mahua Moitra said, “As of today, Dasgupta remains nominated and not a member of the BJP.

As the Trinamool Congress raised objections over his nomination, Dasgupta said all the issues will be resolved before the nomination process.