This University of Assam gave 7 of its 15 Chief Minister to the state Himanta Biswa Sarma

Assam, May 10: Himanta Biswa Sarma was sworn in as 15th chief minister of Assam at the Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra in Guwahati on Monday. Himanta Biswa Sarma is an ex-student of Assam’s Cotton University who has been crowned as Assam’s chief minister today.

Cotton University has given Assam seven of the state’s 15 chief ministers. The other Cotton University ex-students include Assam’s first chief minister, Gopinath Bordoloi.

The other ex-students of Cotton University who went to become the chief ministers of the state are Mahendra Mohan Chowdhury, Sarat Chandra Sinha, Jogendra Nath Hazarika, Hiteswar Saikia and Bhumidhar Barman.

The state’s first premier in the pre-Independence period, Saiyid Muhammad Saadulla, was also a student of Cotton University (previously Cotton College). It was set up by Sir Henry John Stedman Cotton, then chief commissioner of Assam, back in 1901.

Cotton College was upgraded to a university in 2017 by then education minister, Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Also Read: Himanta Biswa Sarma set to be next CM of Assam


Himanta Biswa Sarma joined the Cotton College, Guwahati after completing his schooling at Kamrup Academy School. Himanta Biswa Sarma completed his graduation in 1990 and post-graduation in 1992 in political science from Cotton College.

Himanta Biswa Sarma was the general secretary (GS) of Cotton College Student’s Union from 1991 to 1992. Cotton University is the oldest institute of higher education in Assam and northeast India.