Assam, March 27: Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal cast his vote at a poll centre in Dibrugarh in the first phase 1 elections and stated that his party “will get more than 100 seats.

According to the Election Commission of India, 24.48 per cent voter turnout has been recorded as of 11 AM. Voting for the first phase of Assam Assembly Elections 2021 began on Saturday, 27 March, with voters in 47 out of the state’s 126 constituencies exercising their franchise.

Tight security arrangements have been put in place across 12 districts in Assam, as the state goes to poll.

The first phase of the Assam poll will decide the fate of 264 candidates, including CM Sarbananda Sonowal, state Congress chief Ripun Bora and 23 women candidates.

The 126-member Assam Assembly is going to the polls in three phases – on 27 March, 1 April, and 6 April. The results will be declared on 2 May.

Also Read: Assam assembly elections 2021: 8.84% voter turnout as of 9 AM


According to the Election Commission, 8,109,815 voters, including 4,032,481 females, can cast their votes across 11,537 polling stations, mostly covering the eastern part of the state.

In the 2016 elections, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance secured 35 of the 47 seats while the remaining went to Congress and other parties.