Itanagar G20

Itanagar, March 25: Arunachal Pradesh to host a G20 summit on March 25 and 26. Chief minister Pema Khandu tweeted, “Called on Hon’ble Governor Lt General Shri KT Parnaik ji, PVSM, UYSM, YSM (Retd) at Raj Bhavan. Briefed him about the G20 meeting at Itanagar and on implementation of development policies and programmes of the government in the State”.

He added, “Officers of G20 Secretariat, @MEAIndia, led by @g20org Chief Coordinator Shri Harsh Vardhan Shringla ji made a courtesy call at Itanagar. Looking forward to enriching and fruitful deliberations during the G20 meeting tomorrow”.

Earlier he tweeted, “Let’s be a great host! Held a meeting to review preparations for @g20org summit in which 50 delegates from different countries are arriving at Itanagar on March 25. Hon Speaker @pasang_sona Ji, Hon Home Min @bamangfelix Ji & nodal officers were present in the meeting.”

He said, “Visit of delegates provides a unique opportunity to showcase our rich tradition & culture; tourism potential & development initiatives. We should aim to draw investment for our State through visiting delegates. I seek cooperation from all in making the event a grand success.”

P.N Thongchi, Special Secretary to Speaker Cum Nodal Officer G20 Secretariat, Arunachal Unit in a circular stated this is for general information to all media personnel that the G20 summit on the 25th March 2023 and 26th March 2023 has been declared confidential and the media coverage for the same is not permitted as per instructions received from the Ministry of External Affairs. Therefore, the entry of all media personnel to the G20 summit venues is hereby restricted.

Also Read: PM Narendra Modi likely to flag off North East’s first Vande Bharat on April 14


About 50 delegates from 19 countries are expected to attend the summit. The event is among the 200 meetings in over 50 major cities across India, with over 32 different work streams. The theme of the G20 summit in Itanagar is ‘Research, innovation initiative, gathering’, and it is being organised by the science & technology department.