Nagaland disturbed area

Kohima, March 25: The Ministry of Home Affairs on Friday extended the “disturbed area” status to parts of Nagaland for a period of six more months.

A notification from the Ministry said that the Central Government in the exercise of the powers conferred by Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 (28 of 1958) had declared 9 districts and 16 police stations in 4 other districts of the state of Nagaland as ‘disturbed area’.

This includes Nagaland’s Dimapur, Niuland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek, and Peren districts.

The police stations cover Khuzama, Kohima North, Kohima South, Zubza, and Kezocha jurisdictions in Kohima District; Mangkolemba Mokokchung-1, Longtho, Tuli, Longchem and Anaki Police Stations “C” in Mokokchung District; Yanglok Police Station in Longleng District.

Also Read: Arunachal: Itanagar to host G20 RIIG meeting on Saturday; 50 delegates likely to attend

Under Wokha district Bhandari, Champang, and Ralan police stations; and Ghatashi, Pughoboto, Satakha, Suruhuto, Zunheboto, and Aghunato police stations under the Zunheboto district have been declared as ‘disturbed area’.

The AFSPA will remain in force for six months with effect from 01.04.2023 unless withdrawn earlier.

The Ministry also notified that a further review of the law and order situation in the state of Nagaland has been undertaken.