Mizoram BJP

Aizawl, Oct 18: BJP Mizoram state unit president Vanlalhmuaka and former state Assembly Speaker Lalrinliana Sailo as well as 4 women are among the 23 BJP candidates for the election to 40-member state legislature to be held on November 7, according to the BJP press releases issued on Wednesday.

State BJP unit chief Vanlalhmuaka will contest from Mizoram-Bangladesh border Dampa assembly constituency in Mamit district against the sitting legislator Lalrintluanga Sailo of the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), celebrated singer Vanlalsailova of the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) and LalhmingthangaSailo of the Congress.

Lalrinliana Sailo, who recently resigned as Speaker of the state assembly and legislator and left the MNF to join the saffron party, will contest from the adjoining Mamit assembly seat. Sailo will be facing the sitting MLA H. Lalzirliana of the MNF, H. Zorempuia of ZPM and Lalthanzama of the Congress in the seat.

Former Minister of State and MNF legislator who was expelled from the MNF Dr K. Beichhua will try his luck from the Siaha seat, his home turf in southern Mizoram’s Siaha district on a BJP ticket.

Beichhua will be pitted against H.C. Lalmalsawma Zasaia of the MNF, K.H. Beithle of ZPM and M. Chakhai of the Congress in the constituency where he had won in the 2013 and 2018 assembly polls on the MNF ticket.

Also Read: Racing Boat Capsizes in Tipkai River, Dhubri, Assam; No Casualties Reported

BJP will field 4 women candidates in the coming polls and the saffron party, though only contesting in 23 has the largest number of women candidates.

Among them is F. Lalremsangi, spokesperson of the party who is contesting from the prestigious Aizawl South-1. Lalremsangi, who had unsuccessfully contested from Aizawl South-3 as BJP nominee in the 2018 assembly polls will be facing a tough contest from the incumbent MLA C. Lalsawivunga of ZPM, Rajya Sabha member K. Vanlalvena of MNF and former Minister of State Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu of Congress (another woman candidate) in the constituency.

Others are K. Vanlalruati who is going to contest from Serchhip constituency in central Mizoram’s Serchhip district where she will be facing formidable opponents including ZPM leader Lalduhoma, the sitting MLA who won in 2018 assembly polls as independent and by-polls in 2021 as ZPM nominee, journalist-turned-politician J. Malsawmzuala Vanchhawng (MNF) and R. Vanlaltluanga of the Congress.

Judy Zohmingliani and R. Lalbiaktluangi are other BJP women candidates. The state BJP unit President Vanlalhmuaka had earlier said that the saffron party will contest all the 40 seats, but manages now to contest 23 seats.

The BJP mainly fields its candidates in the constituencies where more minority communities including Chakmas and Brus are concentrated as well as autonomous district councils – Mara, Lai and Chakma councils. The party also has candidates in majority Mizo constituencies, including within the Aizawl Municipal Corporation (AMC).

The BJP leaders claim that the saffron party will be a part of the next government whichever party comes to power.