Guwahati, Oct 20: The Assam government has scrapped “disturbed areas” below the arguable Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act (AFSPA) from West Karbi Anglong district from October 1.

The authorities, however, retained the AFSPA in 8 different districts bordering Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, and one sub-department bordering Manipur for 6 extra months.

“Whereas, an overview of the regulation and order and safety situation in Assam withinside the current beyond shows that the scenario has appreciably progressed in West Karbi Anglong district of the nation withinside the exercising of the powers conferred below Section three of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958…the Governor of Assam is thrilled to withdraw the statement of -Disturbed Area w.e.f. 01.10.2022 from West Karbi Anglong district of Assam,” said the order of the Assam Governor.

The eight districts of Assam where AFSPA will remain effective are Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Charaideo, Sivasagar, Jorhat, Golaghat, Karbi Anglong, and Dima Hasao and one sub-division, Lakhipur, of Cachar district.

Also Read: Arunachal People Have Learnt A Lot From Tibetan Settlers: CM Pema Khandu

On April 1 this year, Centre absolutely eliminated AFSPA from 23 districts and partly eliminated it from one district of Assam.

Assam turned into declared a disturbed vicinity on November 27, 1990, whilst the complete nation turned into introduced below AFSPA. Since then it’s been prolonged from time to time.