Manipur: Congress-led alliance writes to Governor to adopt No Confidence motion

Amid the political upheaval in Manipur, former Congress Chief Minister, O Ilibi Singh along with other Congress MLAs and NPP chief Thangminlen Kipgen has submitted a memorandum to the Governor, Dr Nejma Heptulla to call for a special assembly to move a motion of no confidence against the N. Biren Singh government.

The formation of a new Congress-led Secular Progressive Front with the backing of NPP, TMC and the sole independent candidate has also been conveyed to the governor.

Addressing media personnel the Congress leader clarified that all the 3 BJP MLAs who had resigned from the party on Wednesday have joined the Congress.

At present out of the 60 seats in the Manipur state assembly  49 seats are valid, the rest have been disqualified. Out of these 49 seats, the opposition front has 26 seats while BJP has only 23.

On the newly formed opposition coalition, the former Chief Minister said, “This is not a new coalition partner. We have enough experience for running the state. As of today our effective  strength, we can claim is 27.

Talking about the 3 BJP MLAs he said that they have not defected from the BJP. They have joined the Congress only after resigning.

However, as BJP won the lone Rajya Sabha seat securing  28 out of 52 votes, Chief Minister Biren Singh addressing the media has assured that the BJP rule in the state is still not over and the party still has the numbers.