Union Minister

Aizawl, July 15: The Northeast Students Organisation (NESO) wrote to the Union Minister of Home Affairs, Amit Shah seeking his intervention in the interstate boundary dispute.

The letter to the Home Minister mentioned that there is “a deep sense of anguish on the very crucial issue of the interstate boundary dispute involving the states of Mizoram, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, and Assam.”

“This issue has been lingering on for far too long where tension and conflict crop up time and again without any resolve and solution resulting not only in the immense hardship and suffering for the people residing in these disputed border areas but even to the extent of losing precious human lives,” it said.

NESO said while it has been striving for people-to-people contact in these areas and been urging respective state governments to solve this vital issue, unfortunately, nothing concrete has been reached between the respective state governments.

The memorandum which was signed by the Chairman of NESO, Samuel B Jyrwa, and the Secretary, Sinam Prakash Singh urged for the intervention of the Central ministry in the matter “by playing a constructive role to bring about a lasting solution to this critical problem.”

Also Read: Home Minister Lalchamliana holds press briefing on Mizoram-Assam border issue

The letter also mentioned that various agreements were reached between the respective state governments to maintain a status quo in the disputed areas but these agreements were time and again not honored, resulting in tension and damage of people’s property living in the affected areas.

The respective state governments should honor their own commitments and maintain a status quo and all the recent advances or encroachments made are to be withdrawn to bring the situation back to normalcy till a clear and acceptable solution is arrived at, it added.

Many of the disputed areas are being occupied by illegal migrants from Bangladesh, posing a threat not only to the demography but also to the security of the region, the NESO added. The North East Students’ Organisation (NESO) comprises the Khasi Students’ Union (KSU), All Assam Students’ Union (AASU), Naga Students’ Federation (NSF), Mizo Zirlai Pawl (MZP), Twipra Students’ Federation (TSF), All Manipur Students’ Union (AMSU), Garo Students’ Union (GSU) and All Arunachal Pradesh Students’ Union (AAPSU).

The written representation comes amidst tensions in the Assam-Mizoram border as well as the Nagaland-Assam border areas.