Rajya Sabha NDA

1. The Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is four seats away from the 121-majority mark in the 240-member Rajya Sabha.
2. The BJP’s acquisition of 10 Rajya Sabha seats, combined with the 20 won unopposed earlier, contributes to this development.
3. The vacancy of 56 Rajya Sabha seats in April set the stage for these elections.

New Delhi, Feb 28: The Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) finds itself just four seats short of the majority mark of 121 in the 240-member Rajya Sabha.

This comes after the BJP secured 10 Rajya Sabha seats, adding to the 20 it won unopposed earlier. The vacancy of 56 Rajya Sabha seats in April paved the way for these elections.

BJP’s Dominance in Rajya Sabha

With the addition of these 30 seats, the BJP’s tally in the Rajya Sabha is set to rise to 97, while the NDA’s count will reach 117, once all 56 members are sworn in. The BJP maintains its position as the single largest party in the Rajya Sabha with 97 members, including five nominated MPs who joined the party. In contrast, the Congress holds 29 members.

Cross-Voting in Rajya Sabha Elections

The Rajya Sabha elections for 15 seats across three states witnessed instances of cross-voting. The BJP emerged as the major beneficiary, securing 10 seats, while the Congress managed to clinch three and the Samajwadi Party secured two seats. Notably, the BJP gained an additional seat in Uttar Pradesh and secured one in Himachal Pradesh.

Also Read: Assam: Congress Leader Rana Goswami Set to Meet Himanta Biswa Sarma and JP Nadda Today, Expected BJP Entry on March 4

Himachal Pradesh Shocker

In a surprising turn of events, Himachal Pradesh saw Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi’s defeat as six MLAs from the ruling Congress party cross-voted during the election.

This outcome led to the victory of BJP’s Harsh Vardhan, which further destabilized the already fragile Congress government in the state.

Uttar Pradesh Rajya Sabha Poll

In Uttar Pradesh, the Bharatiya Janata Party secured victory in eight out of the Rajya Sabha polls, while the Samajwadi Party, fielding three candidates, could only secure two seats.

BJP winners include former Union Minister RPN Singh and party spokesperson Sudhanshu Trivedi.

Karnataka Rajya Sabha Poll

Results in Karnataka unfolded as expected, with the Congress clinching three seats and the BJP securing one.

Despite the Congress’s win, BJP MLA ST Somashekar voted in favor of the Congress candidate, reflecting the state’s political dynamics.

Himachal Pradesh Rajya Sabha Poll Setback

In Himachal Pradesh, the ruling Congress faced a major setback as nine MLAs, including six from the party, cross-voted during the election for the lone Rajya Sabha seat.

The winner, Harsh Mahajan, was determined through a draw of lots, leaving the Congress reeling from internal discord.

These Rajya Sabha elections underscore the complex political landscape across various states, with cross-voting and unexpected outcomes shaping the dynamics of the upper house.