Rajya Sabha Elections Northeast update

Rajya Sabha elections: BJP in Manipur, MNF in Mizoram, MDA in Meghalaya

The Rajya Sabha elections went for polls for 19 seats from 8 states namely, Manipur, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Rajasthan on Friday.


After an intense bone of contention in Manipur between the Congress-led opposition alliance and the ruling BJP coalition after 9 MLAs resigned from the government, in elections for the Rajya Sabha seat, Manipur’s lone seat was won by titular king Leisemba Sanajaoba on Friday. Candidate for the BJP, he defeated Congress nominee T Mangi Babu by 4 votes.

Out of 52 votes, Sanajaoba got 28 votes, while Babu secured 24 votes. While the 3 former BJP MLAs and the lone TMC candidate chose not to cast their vote, NPP’s 4 MLAs exercised their franchise.

However, this is an important development in the state and might be a boost to the BJP led coalition government in the state.


While in Mizoram, MNF’s Vanlavena emerged victorious in the Rajya Sabha elections securing 27 votes of the total 39 votes.

His opponents, Congress candidate, Lallianchunga could secure only 5 votes and B. Lalchhanzova of the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) party received 7 votes.

I am very happy that Mizoram’s ruling MNF party has elected me as the Rajya Sabha MP on behalf of Mizoram. Today is a very¬† special day for me.” He told a news channel after his victory in the elections.


In Meghalaya, the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance candidate Wanwei Roy Kharlukhi, won the RS seat by a large margin of 20 votes, defeating Congress nominee Kennedy Cornelius Khyriem.