Union Minister Convoy attacked in Bengal, party alleges TMC goons did it

Bengal, May 6: Union Minister V Muralidharan’s convoy attacked in Panchkhudi, West Midnapore. Bharatiya Janta Party alleged that TMC goons attack the convoy of the Union Minister. Union Minister V Muraleedharan tweeted, “TMC goons attacked my convoy in West Midnapore, broken windows, attacked personal staff. Cutting short my trip.”

The Union home ministry on Thursday formed a four-member team to inquire into reports of post-poll violence in West Bengal. The central government’s actions are in the light of reports of political clashes in the state since elections results were announced on May 2.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has alleged that more than nine of its members have been killed, while the Indian Secular Front has claimed that one of its members lost his life due to the violence.

The ruling Trinamool Congress has said that four members of the party were killed in the clashes. Various news reports have put the toll between 11 and 14 but the police have not yet confirmed the numbers.

Meanwhile, soon after taking oath as the chief minister of the state for a third consecutive term, Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday transferred 30 top officers, including Director General of Police P Nirajnayan.

As part of the administrative shake-up, the chief minister reinstated Virendra as the DGP and Jawed Shamim as the Additional Director-General (Law & Order).

Union Minister Convoy attacked in Bengal, party alleges TMC goons did it

Both Virendra and Shamim were transferred by the Election Commission after the poll body took charge of the state in the lead-up to the Assembly polls. Nirajnayan had replaced Virendra.The government on Wednesday also suspended Debashis Dhar, the superintendent of police of Cooch Behar district, where four persons were killed in firing by central forces during polling on April 10 in the Sitlakuchi.

Also Read: MHA sends 4-member team to West Bengal to assess post-poll violence situation

On Wednesday, Banerjee had implied that the violence was because the state was under the control of the Election Commission for the past few months and said she would set up a “new police system“.

She had said that incidents of violence cannot be tolerated and alleged that there was more disturbance in areas where the Bharatiya Party won seats.

Union Minister Convoy attacked in Bengal, party alleges TMC goons did it

On Sunday, the Trinamool Congress emerged victorious after the country’s longest-ever Assembly elections, held in eight phases amid the massive rise in Covid-19 infections in the country.

The Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress won 213 seats – way beyond the majority mark of 148. The Bharatiya Janata Party managed to secure only 77 constituencies.