Nagaland elections

Kohima, March 02:ย The counting of votes polled in the Nagaland assembly elections will be held today. Nagaland voted on February 27. Around 85.79% of polling was recorded in the Nagaland assembly polls. Nagaland has made elaborate security arrangements with a three-tier cordoning system for counting of EVMs across the headquarters of 16 election districts.

Repolling was held at 4 polling stations, which were marred by violence, killing 1 on Tuesday night. The stakes seem higher for the BJP as results will signal if it has made further inroads in Nagaland, or if the opposition has managed to dent its influence.


  • Sharad Pawar’s NCP has emerged as a surprise winner in Nagaland Polls as it is all set to win six seats in an election swept by the BJP-NDPP. Of the 60 seats, the BJP-NDPP alliance has won 37 seats securing a comfortable majority. The BJP contested 20 seats and won 12 while the NDPP won 25 of 40 seats that it contested.

  • Assam CM Himanta Biswa Saram, who played a crucial role in BJP’s victory in the northeast, today said that the state has a glorious and safe future.

  • The BJP has won 12 seats in Nagaland while the NDPP has won 23 seats so far and is leading on one. The results have been declared for 55 seats so far.

  • The Republican Party of India (Athawale), which contested the Nagaland Assembly election for the first time, has won two seats. It won the Tuensang Sadar II and Noksen seats.
  • Nagaland Deputy Chief Minister and BJP nominee Y Patton is now leading by over 8,000 votes in the Tyui seat.

  • The NDPP-BJP alliance looks set to retain power as they have now bagged more seats. The ruling alliance has so far won 15 seats (Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party – 11 and Bharatiya Janata Party – 04) and is currently leading on 21 (Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party – 13 and Bharatiya Janata Party – 08).
  • Here’s the party-wise results so far:Bharatiya Janata Party –ย 3Independent –ย 3Janata Dal (United) –ย 0Lok Janshakti Party(Ram Vilas) –ย 1Naga Peoples Front –ย 0National People’s Party –ย 2

    Nationalist Congress Party –ย 1

    Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party –ย 10

    Republican Party of India (Athawale) –ย 2

  • NDPP-BJP alliance’s Hekhani Jakhlau polled over 14,000 votes to script history.ย While Jakhlau received 14,395 votes, her rival Zhimomi got 12,859 votes.
  • ย Before Hekhani Jakhlau, Nagaland had sent a woman as its Lok Sabha representative in 1977. In that year,ย Rano Mese Shazia was elected on a United Democratic Party ticket.After that, it was only last year that a second woman entered Parliament from the state with BJP nominating S Phangnon Konyak as the Rajya Sabha member from Nagaland.
  • NDPP supremo and Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio is now leading by over 13,000 votes against Congress’ Seyievilie Sachu.Deputy Chief Minister and BJP nominee Y Patton is also leading by over 7,000 votes in the Tyui seat.
  • Nagaland Election Results 2023: Result Update
    • BJP has won two, RPI (A) two and NDPP one so far
    • The NDPP’s Hekani Jakhalu officially wins and becomes the first woman to ever be elected to the Nagaland Legislative Assembly. She won from Dimapur.
    • BJP chief Temjen Imna Along now leading
  • Union Minister Ramdas Athawale’s Republican Party of India (Athawale) wins two seats NDPP wins 1 seat, leading on 25 seats, BJP won two seats and leading on 12 seats and Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) leading on 3 seats.
  • Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party wins 1 seat, leading on 22 seats, BJP won two seats and leading on 11 seats Republican Party of India (Athawale) wins one seat and leads on one seat.

  • Nagaland BJP president Temjen Imna Along trailing in Alongtaki
  • NDPP-BJP heading toward a comfortable win
  • Here are the latest trends from Nagaland
    • NDPP leading in 27 seats
    • Alliance partner BJP leading 12 seats
    • NPF – 3
    • Cong – 0
    • Others – 9
  • Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party leading on 11 seats, BJP won one seat and leading on 3 seats Janata Dal (United), Lok Janshakti Party(Ram Vilas)Nationalist Congress Party & Republican Party of India (Athawale) leading on one seat each

  • Women candidate NDPP’s Hekani Jakhalu leading in Dimapur-III. Nagaland has never electedย aย womanย MLA.
  • Naga Peoplesโ€™ Front (NPF) contested 22 seats and the Congress which ruled the state till 2003 and does not have any member in the current house contested 23 seats
  • BJP won 1 seat and led on 1

  • BJP won 1 seat in Nagaland

  • As many as 183 candidates โ€“ 164 from 12 political parties, including four women nominees and 19 Independent aspirants are in the fray for the Nagaland assembly elections.
  • The counting is being done under 3-tier security provided by the state and Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) in 16 counting centres.
  • BJP-NDPP alliance leads in Nagaland in early trends
  • The counting process will commence at 8 am amid tight security in Nagaland. The results will be announced today.
  • As per rules by the Election Commission of India, postal ballots will be counted first followed by EVMs.
  • Preparations are underway for the counting of votes at Kohima, Nagaland.
  • Vote counting is to begin at 8 am. Heavy security deployment at the counting centres

  • In 2018, the BJP forged an alliance with the NDPP and successfully formed an alliance government with the backing of Janata Dal (United) and an Independent. The BJP had won 12 seats while NDPP had registered a win on the 17 seats, while the JD(U) clinched 1 seat.
  • The NDPP-BJP alliance holds a clear advantage in Nagaland as they contest all 60 seats between themselves. NDPP, which is the senior partner, contested 40 seats while BJP fought 20. Meanwhile, the NPF and Congress contested just 22 and 23 seats respectively.

Also Read: Nagaland elections 2023: Results tomorrow, 5 key battles to watch out for

  • Nagaland, the northeastern state in its 60-year-old history since attaining statehood never elected a woman MLA, even as female voters are more in number than male.